Click Here To Download John Chow's Newest eBook - The Ultimate Online Profit Model
 

How To Start a Review Blog and Get Free Stuff

written by John Chow on July 10, 2009

nearybanner

One of the coolest things about running The TechZone is I get tons of free stuff to review. I always had the latest computer hardware because I never had to pay for it. Now, you might say that TTZ is a big review site so ya, it’s easy to get free stuff. However, I was getting free products when the site was only a few months old and had very little traffic. How I did it and the methods I used would take too long to explain in a single blog post. Fortunately, review blogger Robb Sutton, has written a 44 page guide on the subject called Ramped Reviews.

How Do You Get All Those Fancy Toys?

Robb is the main blogger at Mountain Biking by 198, a blog that reviews mountain bikes and biking products. While Mountain Biking by 198 makes money with advertising (like most blogs), Robb also receive tens of thousands of dollars in free review products.

ramped-reviews-cover

My biking blog, Mountain Biking by 198, brought in over $24,040 in free product before its 1 year anniversary. Additionally, Mountain Biking by 198 was also sent over $44,950 in review product that was returned to the manufacturer. If that wasn’t enough, we also helped out the industry by getting over $3,000 worth of product donated to various causes for the purpose of fund raising that further grew my brand awareness.

That worked out to $71,990 of products when the blog wasn’t even a year old. Not too bad at all. The best part is, mountain biking is Robb’s passions and what better way to live your passion than to have an endless supply of the latest bikes to review? Ramped Reviews explain step by step how to go about getting the free products for your review blog.

Robb has done a very good job on Ramped Reviews. The eBook is nearly all content with very little fluff. I wish I had a copy when I was starting The TechZone. It would have save me a lot of trial and error time. Some of the topics covered include:

  • Why bloggers get free product to review.
  • What your site needs to have before you start the pro reviewing process.
  • How to contact companies in your niche about free review product. (including a high converting sample letter)
  • The review process and how to write a successful product review including SEO review tactics that will land reviews on the front page of Google.
  • What to do after the review process is complete.
  • How to turn your product reviews into cash.
  • How to rapidly grow your blog through your free review product and product reviews.
  • Bonus Material

Ramped Reviews sells for $20 as an instant download eBook. Personally, I would give it away for free and use it as a branding and list building tool but if Robb wants to sell it for $20, then more power to him. If you run a review blog or are thinking of starting one, Ramped Reviews is well worth the money. You can download a sample chapter here.

Find Out More About Ramped Reviews

Did you enjoy this post? Get John Chow Dot Com updates via email...

Stay up to date with all of John Chow’s tips for making money online and blog posts by subscribing via email. Your email will be kept private and never shared with anyone.

{ 52 comments }

Mike July 10, 2009 at 6:28 pm

I’m a big fan of Ramped Reviews, I’ve been using his advice on my coffee blog to get free coffee to review. I now have more coffee than I can drink. My next step is to get some bigger items to review. It’s a great eBook.

Mike’s last blog post: Can You Drink Too Much Coffee?

Robb Sutton July 10, 2009 at 7:15 pm

Glad to hear it is helping out! I would never sleep with that much free coffee…

Robb Sutton’s last blog post: Micro-blogging – Are Facebook and Twitter replacing personal blogs?

Ben Pei July 12, 2009 at 1:54 am

Lol are you serious?

Ben Pei’s last blog post: Are You Getting Enough Links Yourself?

alan July 10, 2009 at 6:40 pm

It would be interesting to see what this guy had to say, but I agree with John… this should be free.

Michael Kwan July 10, 2009 at 6:47 pm

I can speak from first-hand experience as a freelance writer that getting free products to review is easily one of the bigger perks to the job. Ideally, I’d like to keep everything, but even reviewing cell phones that have to be returned means that I get to use the free minutes and try out products that I may not otherwise be able to try.

Michael Kwan’s last blog post: Blast from the Past: My First Ever Blog Post

TheManRevolution July 10, 2009 at 6:56 pm

I wish I got free stuff telling guys how to get girls.

TheManRevolution’s last blog post: Matching Ties: How To Find The Perfect Tie For Your Shirt

John Chow July 10, 2009 at 7:08 pm

You can! When I was blogging about strange toys, some sex shop sent me an iPod powered vibrator. LOL

Robb Sutton July 10, 2009 at 7:14 pm

That is hilarious!

Robb Sutton’s last blog post: Micro-blogging – Are Facebook and Twitter replacing personal blogs?

Ben Pei July 12, 2009 at 1:55 am

LOL this is crazy dude..

Ben Pei’s last blog post: Are You Getting Enough Links Yourself?

Puneet July 16, 2009 at 4:18 am

Rofl …

i haven’t started any review blog yet but after reading ur post and comments out here i will start one soon :D

Robb Sutton July 10, 2009 at 7:04 pm

Thanks for the review John!

There is nothing quite like getting in all of that product that you used to pay top dollar for. Blogging really has opened up new doors to individuals that used to be reserved for print mags.

Robb Sutton’s last blog post: Micro-blogging – Are Facebook and Twitter replacing personal blogs?

Ridiculous blogger July 10, 2009 at 7:50 pm

Getting the product would be interesting. I don’t know how to do this and I would like to take part of it.

Ridiculous blogger’s last blog post: The most popular memorial

DwightAnthony from financiallyeliteblog.com July 10, 2009 at 8:15 pm

Very good Resource Post John. Makes me want to start my own review blog now. Maybe i will! LOL

James Hartje July 10, 2009 at 9:31 pm

I would love to get free stuff, how can it get any better? Unfortunately my site is focused on Stocks so unless people want to send me there money for me to invest nothing really I can get.

James Hartje’s last blog post: C.R. Bard (BCR)

ZK @ Web Marketing Blog July 10, 2009 at 10:33 pm

We need such kind of credibility and followers as well. Its not at all easy stuff. but if you have patience and ready to do work without expecting anything in return for first year than surely you will get the return.

ZK @ Web Marketing Blog’s last blog post: Bing’s Traffic now surpasses Digg, Twitter and CNN

Mitch July 10, 2009 at 10:58 pm

Of course, here in the U.S. the FTC has decided they’re going to be cracking down on people who tout things they can’t prove they’ve ever tried, but also cracking down on looking at people who write favorable reviews of stuff they received from someone else. So, a review site might not be in the best interests of someone in this country right now.

Mitch’s last blog post: How Goes A Webinar

Robb Sutton July 11, 2009 at 3:50 am

There is an easy fix to that. Write up front and honest reviews! Trust me…there are some very expensive products on my site that did not get good reviews because they couldn’t stand up to the competition or didn’t perform well.

Hubtonomy July 10, 2009 at 11:36 pm

You would have to have a serious following to temp any company to send you products for review.

Hubtonomy’s last blog post: How To Determine If A Niche Is Profitable

Asswass July 11, 2009 at 6:48 am

What if I start a car review blog? would I get free cars?

Asswass’s last blog post: First Contest Update: First Week Results

John Chow July 11, 2009 at 8:17 am

I have reviewed cars on The TechZone before. Mercedes gave us their S600 for a weekend.

Aman@BullsBattleBears July 11, 2009 at 6:56 pm

my kinda freebie!! I would have drove that non stop for the weekend

Aman@BullsBattleBears’s last blog post: Freebie Monday #31 – Free 1 Year Subscrition to Maxim Magazine

Not John Chow July 11, 2009 at 8:51 pm

I used to get GM and Chrysler vehicles for a week at a time. I have driven a Pontiac Solstice, Saturn Sky, Cadillac CTS, and Cadillac SRX. All fun stuff.

Of course, a Mercedes would be nice.

vaibhav July 11, 2009 at 8:02 am

i started feeling like to start techno review blog

vaibhav’s last blog post: How to hide all your secret files and folder behind an image?

Shanker Bakshi July 11, 2009 at 8:03 am

It would be a better idea to start one. Lets see when.

Shanker Bakshi’s last blog post: Music Video with Webcams

EarningStep July 11, 2009 at 8:24 am

this is very suitable for me , downloading now

EarningStep’s last blog post: video | Custom link builder on shareAsale by Jason Rubacky

Marcus July 11, 2009 at 10:01 am

Really my whole goal of starting my web presence was to make money I really never thought it possible to get free stuff. After reading your post I am really thinking about starting a tech blog and offering to review products. Thanks for the tips.

Marcus’s last blog post: What are Sure Bets?

create a blog July 11, 2009 at 11:40 am

I should seriously consider starting a review a site. But first I have to look for opportunities available for non asian publishers.

create a blog’s last blog post: Make Money With pay-per-click-advertising

Vic- BusinessAccent July 11, 2009 at 12:14 pm

It’s always nice to make a review on things you really used. And this things or products are really your favorites and passion.

Vic- BusinessAccent’s last blog post: How to compute income tax for Domestic Corporations and business partnerships?

Zemalf July 11, 2009 at 2:44 pm

This kind of ebook was long overdue in the blogosphere, thanks Robb for putting it out there.. I heard Robb’s podcast interview a while ago about getting all this this stuff and it was very informational. and like said, I’m happy you turned all that into an ebook – good luck with the sales man!

Zemalf’s last blog post: Zemalf’s Blog Directory PageRank Listing

Robb Sutton July 13, 2009 at 4:15 am

Thanks for the feedback! This was another one of those “if you see a hole…fill it” situations and after that podcast…it was evident that bloggers needed a resource to help with writing reviews and review blogging.

Robb Sutton’s last blog post: Micro-blogging – Are Facebook and Twitter replacing personal blogs?

Mastermind Marketing Strategies July 11, 2009 at 3:39 pm

I am realy considering picking that ebook up.
Maybe I can do a review and get it for free? :)

Igor

Mastermind Marketing Strategies’s last blog post: Forces That Influence Mental Mindsets

Aman@BullsBattleBears July 11, 2009 at 6:58 pm

this could be a great investment! $20 to learn how to get consistent products sent to you. Very nice!

Aman@BullsBattleBears’s last blog post: Freebie Monday #31 – Free 1 Year Subscrition to Maxim Magazine

Ben Pei July 12, 2009 at 1:48 am

Yeah I think its really cool to be able to get the latest gadget and review it. When everyone else is still waiting for the launch!

Ben Pei’s last blog post: Are You Getting Enough Links Yourself?

Karl Foxley July 12, 2009 at 1:59 am

Review sites have been popular for a long time and this is a great resource.

Karl Foxley’s last blog post: Get More Website Visitors – 30 Plus Ways To Generate Traffic

Melvin July 12, 2009 at 3:22 am

Well the review concept thin has started almost a decade ago but I can say not a lot were able to capitalize and maximize their profit on it… I myself have mixed take on it…

Melvin’s last blog post: This Thing Pisses Me Off With Bloggers

fas July 12, 2009 at 6:13 am

John what about you writing a similar book and giving it away to your newsletter readers?

fas’s last blog post: How To Optimize Search Engine Marketing

John Chow July 12, 2009 at 8:09 am

I wrote a post on how to start a tech site back in 2006 http://www.johnchow.com/how-to-start-a-tech-site/

Deneil Merritt July 12, 2009 at 7:57 am

I wonder if this would work with a food review site? It would be cool to get invited to places just to get to eat for free. :)

John Chow July 12, 2009 at 8:10 am

Why do you think I have a “Fine Dining” category on this blog? :)

Giancarlo Massaro, http://anyluckyday.com July 13, 2009 at 10:11 am

Smart man for writing this book. I don’t run a free review blog, however I run a product giveaway website. I’ve received thousands of dollars worth of products to keep and giveaway in the first 6 months. It’s a great feeling.

Giancarlo Massaro, http://anyluckyday.com’s last blog post: Contest of the Day: Jet Lag Formula by Fly Right

Niwla73 July 13, 2009 at 3:39 pm

I just signed up with a site that lets you review products and getting paid to do so. It is a nice way to make some extras if you are good in doing a review that is. I am trying to learn more about it that is why i signed up there and maybe I can expand it and do more with it. It has 2 winners the advertiser and the person who reviews. unless it is a bad product. My post about it can be found here: Bloggers Earn Cash by Placing Reviews of Products.

Niwla73’s last blog post: What Kind Of Super PC Do you Have?

game-girl July 14, 2009 at 2:18 am

I like review sites,there is always much interesting to learn there.

game-girl’s last blog post: Натали Портман сыграет в фильме Тор

Shanker Bakshi July 14, 2009 at 3:58 pm

The big thing with the FTC is just disclosure. If you say you got it free (or at a discount), and (if true) that you get a commission when it’s ordered through your link, then they’re happy.

VishTecho July 15, 2009 at 7:02 am

That was a pretty good headstart for anyone who wants to start blogging along with some perks!

Hope to read some ebooks about this topic from you.

internettechguy July 15, 2009 at 11:25 am

All sounds like good stuff. The only problem is people are only going to give you the real cool and expesive stuff to review if your blog is very successful.

videostar July 15, 2009 at 10:35 pm

That FTC is just a bugger sometimes. Think about all the spam emails you get from big players, like menshealth.com etc.. They can send you an email selling you a weight loss product that lets you do whatever you want to lose weight.

Yet as an affiliate if I offered the same product and said eat whatever you want and lose weight id be out of business for not having “proof of results” or explaining that those results are not typical.

entirely integrated i-journal July 16, 2009 at 2:19 am

I haven’t been there for a while, but I see you still have some interesting posts :)

entirely integrated i-journal’s last blog post: IE6 naudojimas

gendut July 16, 2009 at 2:33 am

a step to be expert on blog, thank you

Free Arcade Games July 16, 2009 at 12:20 pm

You are absolutely right :) A review blogs gets you practically everything for free!

-Mike

Free Arcade Games’s last blog post: Perfect Shot

Melissa July 20, 2009 at 7:43 pm

How about giving away Ramped Reviews to all John Chow’s readers for us to review on our websites and blogs! lol

Melissa’s last blog post: Man Makes $100-$300 A Day Sitting In A Car

saleel July 21, 2009 at 9:28 pm

I am glad to learn that reviewing products and stuff by a blog is rewarding. Thanks John for this information

saleel’s last blog post: Ben 10 Carvern Run Game

Custom Essay July 25, 2009 at 4:02 am