Free eBook by John Chow - How I Went From Zero to Over $100,000 a Month
 

Make Money Online – Review My Blog Rule Change

written by John Chow on March 14, 2007

The Ultimate Online Profit Model

I’ve decided to make a little change to the rules for the Review My Blog for a free linkback promotion. From now on, a review must link to this post and the blog home page using any of the following anchor text:

  • make money
  • make money online
  • make money at home
  • making money
  • make money from home
  • make money on the internet

Here’s an example of what I want.

John Chow dot Com is a blog that helps you make money. He is offering to link to your blog if you review his blog.

Other than the above requirements, you are free to say whatever you want in the review – good or bad. You are also free to link to any articles I’ve written as part of the review. The post must be a review of this blog. You can not mix it with any other posts or reviews.

The Importance Of The Anchor Text

This post is also a lesson on the importance of linking with keywords or phases. In the Evil Nintendo Wii Blog Contest, I asked people to link to me using “root of all evil.” If you do a Google search for that phrase, you’ll see I am now ranked number three, just behind Wikipedia and RootOfAllEvil.com.

While it’s fun to rank for root of all evil, not many people search for that phase. However, according to the Overture keyword selector tool, there are over 44,000 searches every month for make money online. If I can get on page one of Google for that phrase, it would mean a flood of new traffic.

Since I am asking you to link to me with a specific anchor text, I am going to offer you the same thing. Review my blog according to the above rules and I’ll link to your review and I’ll link to your blog home page using whatever anchor text you want. Just don’t use “make money online”. :twisted:

If you’ve posted a review of my blog before and want to do it again under the new rules, feel free to do so. This is great way to get linked back to your blog using a proper anchor text. Once your review is posted, send me an email with the URL and the text you want to anchor your home page.

Did you enjoy this post? Get John Chow Dot Com updates via email...

Stay up to date with all of John Chow’s tips for making money online and blog posts by subscribing via email. Your email will be kept private and never shared with anyone.

{ 105 comments }

jgatz March 14, 2007 at 7:02 pm

is it permissable for a non blog to link to you with said text and expect a link back?

John Chow March 14, 2007 at 7:29 pm

As long as the site is not warez, gambling or any other bad things, I don’t see why not. Go for it.

Marc March 15, 2007 at 4:29 am

Hehe, John’s pretty footloose and fancy free with his rules. Rightfully so. There’s no reason to exclude a perfectly reasonable website because it doesn’t fit with the blog format. The list of sites you do exclude are reasonable too as they’re a pretty standard exclusion across the web.

HMTKSteve March 15, 2007 at 9:47 am

It’s all about the SEO!

Mark Robinson March 16, 2007 at 6:52 am

It’s good to change the rules once in a while – keeps people on their toes!

Jane May March 16, 2007 at 7:53 pm

I like the flexability that john allows his readers, regardless of blog or not.

Erik March 16, 2007 at 8:32 am

I don’t really trust John’s definition of “bad” :twisted: .

Jane May March 16, 2007 at 7:54 pm

What makes you say that, the “toys” he’s been getting to review???

WesleyTech.com March 15, 2007 at 9:46 am

It is a great scheme, and no one will be able to match it unless they have a massive loyal readership or following like John does. With all of the “make money online” link-backs generated by this promotion, I don’t see how John won’t make it to the Google front page for that keyword.

I would try it, but I don’t have enough website owners / bloggers that follow my sites. John has quite a unique audience and readership at his disposal.

Kudos again!

Thanks,
Wesley…
http://DVDRentalForums.com Leran about DVD Rental Services!
http://WesleyTech.com Blu-ray, HD DVD & Optical storage info!

Dinner March 14, 2007 at 7:05 pm

Oh wow, that’s a brilliant idea. I’ll have to get a review in sometime soon! :grin:

Everyday Weekender March 14, 2007 at 7:12 pm

More evilness :twisted:

Kumiko March 15, 2007 at 1:08 am

Pure, pure evil. I’m going to call my first born child “Make Money Online” and see if he/she can beat you!

Kumiko
xo

Everyday Weekender March 15, 2007 at 5:55 am

Haha.. you better start soon, seems like John has a HUGE head start!

Gary Lee March 15, 2007 at 10:29 am

john has already sold his soul to the devil . . . just make sure you get a good ROI for your kid ;)

Saman Sadeghi March 15, 2007 at 12:26 pm

It’s not evil, it’s genius!!

Michael Kwan March 15, 2007 at 4:04 pm

How about we compromise and say that it’s evil genius?

Jane May March 16, 2007 at 7:55 pm

or is being genius evil?

Mike Scott March 14, 2007 at 7:16 pm

Hey John,
Not being a super Google expert, but isn’t referring to you as the root of all evil a Google Bomb? Not that I mind, but I thought they had stopped Google Bombs.

Keep up the evilness.

Michael Kwan March 14, 2007 at 8:31 pm

Yeah, it seems to be a Google bomb (but one that is clearly working).

Jane May March 16, 2007 at 7:56 pm

I’d stick with it till the bomb expoldes :grin:

Jez March 15, 2007 at 5:04 am

The other thing is that reciprocal links supposedly cancel each other out, the fact that John gives a linkback will reduce the effect of the reviews, that said, the sheer volume should take effect…

Saman Sadeghi March 15, 2007 at 8:33 am

It is a Google Bomb, that’s the point!

1dollar March 26, 2007 at 7:23 pm

Is that allowed by Google???

Matt Coddington March 15, 2007 at 8:59 am

I was under the impression that they only diminished the effect of the “I’m Feeling Lucky” link bombs. Google wouldn’t negate effective link-building with targeted anchor links.

HMTKSteve March 15, 2007 at 9:48 am

If Google truly penalized you for linking how does Digg maintain such a high PR? That site is nothing but outgoing links!

Jane May March 16, 2007 at 7:57 pm

True…those darn diggers, they get away with everything ;)

Johnny_Cash March 14, 2007 at 7:23 pm

This is a very evil scheme!

My blog is called, “Making Money on the web”, but I don’t think I can beat Seth Godin’s book of the same name.

Jez March 15, 2007 at 5:06 am

I have a blog on a domain where there is a book of the same name, thats one of the reasons I chose it. I could see people searching for similar informaiton on Amazon, but there were no sites specifically catering for that niche, so I created one :-)

Jane May March 16, 2007 at 7:59 pm

Good idea Jez, at a way to be creative and proactive!

Jon Lee March 14, 2007 at 7:28 pm

That is an amazing idea John. Props for coming up with it!
Too bad I already have a review in though :neutral:

John Chow March 14, 2007 at 7:31 pm

I said anyone who has reviewed me already can do it again under the new rules.

Jez March 15, 2007 at 5:07 am

Double trouble! youll be writing a lot more posts reviewing the reviews then!!

Jon March 14, 2007 at 7:41 pm

You are evil! :grin: :twisted: You’re a very smart man and a wonderful writer, I admire you very much. Good job on all of this! Once I get my web dev. blog up I will write you a review. :grin:

Eli March 14, 2007 at 8:05 pm

That’s a really good idea John.

I’ve started writing my review of your blog, but I’m not going to finish it until I upgrade my blog (new design soon)

Maki March 14, 2007 at 8:09 pm

I don’t know .. I would prefer giving reviewers who are taking the time and effort to write a review, the freedom to choose the specific anchor text. After all, it’s their writing style, their readers and their blog.

Compared to receiving a nice fat contextual keyword link and a keyword link in a list that is devoid of context, I’ll much rather receive the former.

Good luck cracking the top 5. You can bet the other websites won’t relinquish their position easily, especially when it comes to a competitive keyword.

See you at the top :twisted:

Michael Kwan March 14, 2007 at 8:52 pm

He’s still letting you write whatever you want. I’m sure that somewhere in your review of this blog, the term “make money online” or some variant is bound to pop up.

Maki March 14, 2007 at 9:49 pm

I understand your point Michael. Yes, it’s fairly accurate to say that the term will pop up somewhere in the text and I’m aware that John isn’t making the reviewers write all good stuff about his blog.

My point is this: reviews without the designated anchor text will be rejected. The reviewer doesn’t have autonomy over where to point the link (must point to homepage + specific post) as well as the link text itself.

This makes it somewhat like all the adverts I see on PPP everyday, each with specific anchors pointing to specific URLs.

Why not still maintain the old Review My Blog policy but allow reviewers that use the designated anchor text, the ability to choose the anchor text for John to link to them?

Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure John will get tremendous benefits from this scheme because of his wide readership and following.

This has always been the way he does stuff on his blog and I wouldn’t expect anything else.

Just wanted to point out my thoughts on this issue.

Jez March 15, 2007 at 5:22 am

I agree, it would be better to suggest the how the anchor text is keyworded, but allow for some variation, I think that would probably give better SEO than an “exact” term repeated accross many sites.

Garrett Albright March 15, 2007 at 12:04 am

Search engines use text in the title attribute of link tags for keywords as well, do they not? Perhaps a good compromise would be just to require the phrase in the title attribute.

Jez March 15, 2007 at 5:23 am

Absolutely, this is a very important field with the review…

Alan March 14, 2007 at 9:01 pm

Great idea to build the Google ranking! :smile: I have just read tons of your posts and I have to say this is a wonderful resource with lots of good fresh ideas. Keep up the great job.

Joe Bartender March 14, 2007 at 9:08 pm

I just reviewed your site yesterday under the old rules. It hasn’t appeared yet on one of the linkback lists. Should I go back and change the link? Thanks!

John Chow March 14, 2007 at 10:42 pm

Up to you. If you can change it or make a new post.

weeklyhiphop.com March 14, 2007 at 9:22 pm

Way to google bomb!

http://www.weeklyhiphop.com

Saman Sadeghi March 15, 2007 at 8:35 am

Why would you include a link to your site? It’s a nofollow link, and you already have it in the title of your comment? :?:

HMTKSteve March 15, 2007 at 9:49 am

You tell him Sam!

Saman Sadeghi March 15, 2007 at 12:30 pm

I always wonder why people do that! Is it supposed to be their signature? Don’t they realize they don’t get a linkback for it?

Personally, I won’t visit the site of someone who does that!

:twisted:

Jane May March 16, 2007 at 8:01 pm

Now thats the true definition of spam, what do you think spaman..i mean saman :razz:

Gary Lee March 14, 2007 at 9:24 pm

Are you trying to get banned from Google too? hahaha . . I love how you walk the fine line! The thing is your blog is about making money online, so I guess they can’t really argue that you’re bs-ing the system.

My New Choice March 14, 2007 at 9:33 pm

FWIW, I’m seeing you as #4 on the search for root of all evil. You’re slipping John! :twisted:

Kenny March 14, 2007 at 9:47 pm

As soon as more people find out about the Wii contest, he’ll move up to #1 pretty quickly :twisted:

David March 15, 2007 at 12:19 am

Yup…that Wii contest will help a lot, especially because it runs till the end of the month…so lots of time to get lots of links :twisted:

George March 14, 2007 at 9:36 pm

Someone just told me about your plan, so I stopped by to check it out. Good idea. Currently, my blog is ranked in the top 10 on Google for that term and the traffic is not bad. It took a long time, but it might have been quicker if I had been as creative you are being.

If you are interested we could exchange links or cross promote our sites in a way that might help both of us get and stay in the top 10 for that keyword phrase.

All the best,
George

carl March 14, 2007 at 9:44 pm

anchor text is very important when it comes to link building

carl March 14, 2007 at 9:47 pm

and oh yea! mre evil!!! :twisted: mwahahahah :twisted:

Nenad Ristic March 14, 2007 at 11:15 pm

Great, just after I finally submit my review, this happens!
I could write another review, but that would be pointless (hey, I at least try to provide some value for my readers, and reviewing the same blog twice is not the way to do it)

I might still do it a bit later, or if the blog changes.

Albert March 14, 2007 at 11:18 pm

John Chow.. John Chow.. Can i know your next evil plan please? :twisted:

Saman Sadeghi March 15, 2007 at 8:36 am

An Evil Mastermind never reveals their secrets!

dan1el March 15, 2007 at 9:49 am

I bet he’s thinking big. Like say, taking over the world. Does anyone else find the idea of John in the Dr. Evil outfit amusing? :smile:

Saman Sadeghi March 15, 2007 at 12:33 pm

Who would be his Mini Me, Stephen Fung?!

:razz:

David March 14, 2007 at 11:29 pm

hmm…the evilness continues…looks like I can get another linkback by writing a new post.. :twisted:

James Britton March 15, 2007 at 2:56 am

I noticed you changed your blog title too!

“Make Money Online with John Chow dot com”

Brilliant!

Jayson Joseph March 15, 2007 at 3:36 am

John,

Are you planning to take over the world?

:shock:

Erik March 16, 2007 at 8:31 am

Hasn’t he already accomplished that? :twisted:

Hannes Johnson March 15, 2007 at 6:22 am

Clever John :) Great way for you to benefit even more from the reviews ;) Also nice of you to offer linkbacks with specific anchor text.

Smart of you to also change the title of your front page – should definitely help you with the rankings.

So I guess you’re trying to beat ProBlogger for “make money online”, right? ;)

But you might want to allow a few variations of the “make money online” anchor text – so Google doesn’t penalize you for trying to trick “the system” when they suddenly see 100s of new links with “make money online” as anchor text…

lyndonmaxewell March 15, 2007 at 7:41 am

lol, IF JohnChow continues his ‘scheme’, he will definitely beat him in links, and search results!

Gary Lee March 15, 2007 at 10:27 am

to be honest . . problogger has so much more content since he’s been at this for years! If John does catch up . . . I wonder how Darren’s gonna feel about it!

Ryan J. Parker March 15, 2007 at 6:38 am

It’ll be interesting to see how long it takes for you to reach the 1st page. I mean, if just half the people took you back up on your linkback offer and decided to do another review you should be there in no time.

Gary Lee March 15, 2007 at 10:27 am

I say 2 weeks at MOST

Aris March 15, 2007 at 5:38 pm

Where do you think he is now, Ryan? Page 10, page 40? :twisted:

lyndonmaxewell March 16, 2007 at 12:06 am

He’s on first page of Google for “root of all evil”!

Erik March 16, 2007 at 8:30 am

The 4th result!

Hannes Johnson March 15, 2007 at 8:09 am

One thought… since you’re targeting “make money online” now, will you be posting more specifically about how to make money online – and less about cars, fine dining and vibrators? ;)

lyndonmaxewell March 16, 2007 at 12:02 am

I guess if you know how to make money, you have to know how to spend it as well. Here is where the fine cars, dining and erhm.. any other things fit in place.

Gary Lee March 15, 2007 at 10:26 am

I was punching some numbers and if you chose the right affiliates, you’re looking at a lot of money! You could get that Pagani in a couple of months!!!

lyndonmaxewell March 15, 2007 at 11:57 pm

lol, it would be great if he can get a Real picture of himself in one of that. I would love to see that!

Michael Kwan March 15, 2007 at 4:07 pm

Shouldn’t John turn pingbacks OFF on this post?

Matthew March 15, 2007 at 5:40 pm

No, I like pingbacks.

Erik March 16, 2007 at 8:30 am

That would be helpful. Getting a bit annoying.

Matthew March 15, 2007 at 5:40 pm

Great idea, I definitely want to explore the same thing with my blog, just need to get the right keyword/phrase

lyndonmaxewell March 15, 2007 at 11:55 pm

Besides, one would need plenty of ‘supporters’ as well to make the ploy works. :twisted:

carl March 16, 2007 at 4:26 am

hmmm??? this is a nice idea john! I’ll try to make a post about your blog as soon as I can! it’s just like trading links!

yehey!! more traffic for both of us! :mrgreen:

Erik March 16, 2007 at 8:49 am

This could be a very valuable page to have your link on. ! :twisted:

Mark Robinson March 16, 2007 at 6:47 am

I love the idea of sticking it to Google – why not. Now what should my anchor text be…. ‘earning money online’?

Erik March 16, 2007 at 8:29 am

“Make Money Online” is going to be hard to conquer. Hope you get it John!

Nathan Hannig March 16, 2007 at 2:20 pm

I reviewed your blog at my blog in the website link for my name. Thank you John.

Fabiana March 16, 2007 at 3:12 pm

Can I write a review in my own language ? Portuguese ?
Thanks

John Chow March 16, 2007 at 3:46 pm

As long as you have the anchor text in English, go ahead.

FaYZ March 17, 2007 at 1:28 pm

beautiful..wonderful trick john..will get around to do it tomorrow.. :lol:

Rex March 17, 2007 at 2:10 pm

Dude… you rock… :)

http://rexduffdixon.com/?p=2091 – the post!

Rex

Mark March 18, 2007 at 9:31 am

Brilliant idea!
‘Make Money Online’ was the keyword that I targeted when I first started blogging a couple of months ago, which is why I chose my domain ‘tomakemoneyonline.net’.
This is a very, very competitive keyword with some very big boys in there with you John.
Best of luck, I’ll be watching with great interest.

Michael Josh March 18, 2007 at 12:24 pm

Of course I have a long way to go about learning SEO but this post alone has taught me quite a bit. Will review your site soon and hope for a link back.

Deb March 18, 2007 at 7:40 pm
AgnesW March 20, 2007 at 6:31 am

You provide a good way to get a free linkback… :grin:

roc21 March 20, 2007 at 12:32 pm

It’s good idea!!

KCLau March 21, 2007 at 10:37 pm

This post teach about the anchor text. Thanks John!

Matador March 22, 2007 at 4:34 am

Thanks for the advice, John!

Gonzo March 27, 2007 at 10:00 pm

You have a mention on http://blogmoolah.blogspot.com

Mosley March 28, 2007 at 11:13 am

Amazing! Keep it up you have a great blog and it needs to be seen! I will be emailing you soon with a review.

Abdul Aziz March 29, 2007 at 12:04 pm

Congrats John for your experiments success. I hope we also get a share of your success.
Rock on…

alexf2000 March 29, 2007 at 4:53 pm

Wow! Dude, you are invented link exchange! :shock: Congrats! :)

Jonix March 29, 2007 at 11:41 pm

lol, the Gunpowder has been discovered :D

Berger March 30, 2007 at 2:46 pm

I love the idea of sticking it to Google – why not.

theresabossan82 November 14, 2011 at 8:36 pm

Is link exchange can still improved ranking nowadays? with the PANDA system I just don’t know what SEO campaigns are working and not working :(

<a href=”http://buildingwebsitesmadesimple.com/dreamweavermadesimple/dreamweaver-cs4-tutorial.html”>Dreamweaver CS4 tutorials</a>

theresabossan82 November 20, 2011 at 4:22 am

I learned a lot with this post and now will start to implement.

“Fiberglass pool brisbane”:http://www.freedompools.com/swimming-pools-brisbane