<< 21 step system that gets you $1000, $3000 , $5000 commissions per sale >>
 

SEO Book Review

written by John Chow on December 14, 2006

uopm

A few days ago, Aaron Wall contacted me and asked if I wanted to review his SEO Book. This couldn’t have came at a better time because I was thinking of buying his book to review anyway. Now that Aaron contacted me, not only do I get the book for free, but I also get $50 for doing the review because he contacted me through ReviewMe. Don’t you feel ripped off now, Aaron? :)

For those who don’t know, Aaron Wall is like the God of Search Engine Optimization. He commands $500 per hour for SEO consultation and the companies that hire him are happy to pay it. Aaron Wall, along with Lee Dodd, Jeremy “Shoemoney” Schoemaker, and Dave Taylor will be putting on the Elite Retreat at the Marriott River Center in San Antonio, Texas on December 18-19 2006. The cost for the retreat: $4,850.00 per person.

Let’s face it, the cost of attending the Elite Retreat or getting one on one face time with Aaron Wall is way out of the price range for the average webmaster. This is where the Aaron’s SEO Book comes in.

The SEO Book covers everything, and I do mean everything, there is to know about search engine optimization. Currently the book is 328 pages long. That’s a pretty big read and Aaron is aware that many people who buy his book won’t read the whole thing. To help wet your pallet and ensure you get some value out of it (and thus hopefully read the entire thing) Aaron uses the first 22 pages to summarize what is in the other 300+ pages. The summary is enough to get most webmasters started – they can read the individual chapters to get more in-depth information.

The SEO Book has A LOT of information – way too much for me to summarize in this review. Hell, Aaron’s own summarization took 22 pages! The SEO Book covers everything I have done on my blog to increase its search traffic. Back in August, this blog received 269 search engine visitors for the entire month. Today, I get over 1,000 search engine visitors per day. There is also a ton of stuff the SEO Book covers that I haven’t done yet, but you can bet I’ll be doing them.

seo-book-new.jpgA great feature about the SEO Book is the free lifetime updates. As the search engine game changes, and it always changes, you’ll be completely up-to-date. Since it was first published, the SEO Book has been updated 20 times – from 24 pages for the first book to 328 pages for the current one.

The SEO Book sells for $79 and comes with an unconditional 90 money back guarantee. If the SEO Book is not for you, send Aaron an email and he’ll give you all your money back, no questions ask. Is it worth it? Damn right it is! If you can’t make the $79 back after reading this book, then honestly, you’re beyond help. Return the book and get your money back.

Did you enjoy this post? Get John Chow Dot Com updates via email...

Stay up to date with all of John Chow’s tips for making money online and blog posts by subscribing via email. Your email will be kept private and never shared with anyone.

{ 28 comments }

StrangeProgress December 14, 2006 at 9:17 pm

I’ve actually been meaning to take a look at Aarons SEO Book for some time. I’ll reasonably happy with my SEO skills as it is, but you’re right in saying that Aaron really knows what hes talking about.

From all I’ve heard about him, I would be surprised if every webmaster couldn’t learn a thing or two about gaining (and retaining) profitable search rankings.

Matt

dacholo December 14, 2006 at 10:28 pm

hmm, $79 for a book even with “lifetime updates” is d*mn expensive, no? I mean, even programming books top out around $60 USD.

Maybe I’m just missing something…

StrangeProgress December 14, 2006 at 11:34 pm

Dacholo, my take on that is that IF it does in fact teach someone how to get all their sites ranking well, and bringing in a constant stream of valuable search traffic, then you should be able to make a lot more than $79/day from this – add to that the compound earnings thanks to the “lifetime” of the book (and your continued success in search engines presumably), and the picture only gets better.

In saying that, I haven’t yet read it, and can’t vouch for the quality of information contained – just speculating on its value.

John Chow December 14, 2006 at 11:42 pm

This is a pretty simple question to answer. Buy it, read it, if don’t like it, get your money back. Even though I got it for free, I would have paid $79.00 for it.

Nomar December 14, 2006 at 11:43 pm

great review chow, i am not going to buy it though, i can use some extrea seo knowledge, but 79 dollar is to much for me poor student :)

Jez December 15, 2006 at 1:59 am

Hi John,

Im going to buy an seo book and am seriously considering this, but do think its a bit expensive.

Have you read any other SEO books, if so I was wondering how it compared?

Would you say this book has much unique content not contained in cheaper books?

Allen.H December 15, 2006 at 3:57 am

I think i’m gonna get this one, although i’m not really aiming into becoming a SEO expert, i think knowledge in that field is a great advantage even for bloggers.

I wrote an article on how post title SEOing increased my readership and revenue by hundreds of percents.

Thanks for the heads up John.

Allen.H

Matthew December 15, 2006 at 4:14 am

I purchased this eBook about 3 – 4 months back and am VERY happy with the results. Search engine traffic has gone way higher then it was before by following a few simple steps. The $79 or what ever it cost me at the time has been paid back a number of times over.

This is the first eBook I have purchased and I do feel that $79 is money very well spent!

HMTKSteve December 15, 2006 at 5:18 am

Doesn’t SEO work require constant attention?

I can’t see paying a company for this service when as soon as you get the top ranking someone else will pay another company to get their site a top ranking and bump you down.

True SEO work is done by creating quality content. You can’t beat quality content!

Gdog December 15, 2006 at 5:34 am

On the topic of ReviewMe, I got contacted for my first review just yesterday. $20 for the review, not bad for 15 minutes of work.

derrich December 15, 2006 at 8:27 am

I’m still waiting for the informal bar invite from these guys. Heck, I’ll pick up the tab for a little one on one barstool time. Counting the days until they get to San Antone.

Nick December 15, 2006 at 10:24 am

John did you hire a rookie copywriter to ghostwrite that review?

“Aaron Wall is like the God of Search Engine Optimization. He commands $500 per hour for SEO consultation and the companies that hire him are happy to pay it.”

Your review reads just like Aarons sales letter, and is completely devoid of any compelling reasons why this book would benefit me. And no, him being the “God of SEO” is not good enough.

Turn down the hype.

nono December 15, 2006 at 10:29 am

I am looking for a SEO book or even site that i can subscribe to.
Of coz it will be best if its free update for life.
Do give us a few others suggestions
Thanks

Gary December 15, 2006 at 10:49 am

Does the book cover whitehat, greyhat and blackhat SEO techniques?

Joe December 15, 2006 at 11:34 am

This is the first reviewme blog post i have seen, what a cool concept. :D

The book is only worth the money if your going to take the time to practice what it preaches. The book will cover all the basic SEO ideas and then some, but if you don’t put an hour or two a day into your site, you wont get anything out of it.

John Chow December 15, 2006 at 11:40 am

Nick – That’s just my writing style.

Gary – All whitehat.

David Mackey December 15, 2006 at 7:34 pm

Thanks for the recommendation. Definetly going to check into it.

Heta Deals December 18, 2006 at 12:42 am

So when will you reccomend a blackhat SEO book? Does Aaron upsell that?

John Chow December 18, 2006 at 12:57 am

I don’t do blackhat and wouldn’t recommend other do it either. Aaron doesn’t seem to have anything else to sell you after this book.

Brendon December 18, 2006 at 3:57 am

I’m always amused when people think a $79/$100/$whatever book is too expensive.

It has nothing to do with the price. It’s always about the value.

I followed Aaron’s book and had my site generate $5,000 a day in sales.

I wrote up a case study on it at ww.seobookreview.com (you’ll see the actual stats). It’s an affiliate site, which does lessen (I think) the perceived independence of my review – but the book did what I say and more.

(If you want to buy it, buy it here from John’s affiliate link.)

Now I’ve used Aaron’s book to do some work on an affiliate site that generates in excess of $1,200 USD a week.

It’s hard to write a positive review without hype – because hype works. In Aaron’s case it’s hype well deserved.

Mario Sanchez December 18, 2006 at 12:45 pm

I am always amused by people who say “it’s too expensive” when referring to a $79 ebook without even knowing what’s inside. $79 for Aaron’s book is nothing considering the amount of knowledge you can find inside. It can easily save you months of trial and error (how much is that worth?). If Aaron were a real estate guru he would be charging $5K for three-day “bootcamps” covering only parts of his book…Fortunately, for all of us, he doesn’t operate that way and practically gives away his knowledge through an ebook that is not only outstanding, but also updated regularly at no cost (so you are getting updated seo knowledge forever…). I call that a bargain.

Frank December 19, 2006 at 11:02 am

If you look at alternative books on SEO, you will find cheaper books, but most of them have outdated content and therefore not worth the money. $79 is nothing; you will make a lot more after reading it.

Marcus Wickes December 20, 2006 at 5:41 pm

If I didn’t have to deal with whiners all day at work, I might be ammused by some of the comments for this post. I don’t understand how some people think a 300+ page book on the latest SEO marketing techniques is not worth $79. I work with a consulting company that charges 100x that price for similar training. Aaron would be smart to charge much more for his service and then try to upsell more products. But his book (which I purchased as light reading material 6 months ago and received updates since) simply lays out the basics of marketing and builds on every imaginable topic of SE marketing. Sure his grammar and spelling could use a bit of help but he discusses topics in a very organized manner that makes it easy for an average webmaster to understand.

And with a no-questions-asked refund guarantee how can anyone complain?? I have no conscience, but I would feel guilty if I even considered asking for a refund after reading even the 22 page overview that starts the book.

Oh, and I have never met Aaron and hate affiliate marketers. I’m just bored and pissed off at work so this was a little venting opportunity to talk about a product that I have enjoyed.

Andy December 26, 2006 at 4:00 pm

I purchased this book and your review was dead on
Aaron did a great job and does a great job with this book/site

swollenpickles January 4, 2007 at 5:28 am

I’m really interested in this book. $79US may be stretching me at the moment though.
I’m kinda old fashioned, so for $79 I’d be hoping for a hard cover book. :P

Sandis January 6, 2007 at 7:05 am

Well, its pretty funny how many of you are crying about 79$ ebook.

Did you know that good SEO tools costs hundred to couple hundreds a piece.

Do you know that stompernet costs thausands a year?

Why you are crying? Poor students.

Of course, if you expect magic happen then forget about that. Content and links + heavy work is still the way to go. Of course, there are couple strategies and tactics you could use, blogs are great example to mention, but its still work.

Andrew February 5, 2007 at 5:33 pm

I recently got this book and am in the process of reading it. So far it’s been very enlightening!

Sunny February 6, 2007 at 12:57 pm

ok John, I read your review and im convinced. I’m going to buy it under your affiliate link.