Click Here To Download John Chow's Newest eBook - The Ultimate Online Profit Model
 

Verified Torrents with Previews and More

written by Michael Kwan on February 4, 2009

Download my FREE eBook!

vertor-search

Before I get started with this review, I need to remind you that use of torrents and downloading copyrighted content is purely at your own risk. If you get busted, the onus is 100% on you.

Now that we got that out of the way, I can tell you about Vertor.com, a “new generation website” with VERified TORrents. That’s where it gets its name. On the surface, it may look any other site that lists torrents for music, movies, and other content, but it’s got a few features that really set it apart. If you’re not familiar with BitTorrent, you can check the FAQ.

Checking Out the Library of Torrents

When you hit up Vertor.com (shown above), you’ll notice that the page layout is utterly simplistic, not unlike Google. From that search bar, you can gain access to a wide range of torrents, including Hollywood movies, Japanese anime, and popular computer games.

vertor-torrents

Clicking through to the main page, you’ll find that Vertor is a little more robust that a simple torrent search engine. They’ve got their own news and reviews, lists of the most popular torrents, an official forum and more.

Have you discovered a great torrent that is not listed on Vertor? You can upload torrents for other Vertor users, as long as you are a registered member of the site.

vertor-options

Verification and Information

Downloading random content on the Internet can be a very scary experience, because many of the files shared over BitTorrent can be infected with all sorts of nasty things. Vertor helps to protect you against such threats, because every listed torrent file is downloaded and checked for viruses. This is part of the security of verified torrents.

Since Vertor is relatively new, it’s still going through some growing pains. As a result, they “have discovered our anti-virus software was not dependable enough, so we’re changing it to a more reliable one on 30.12.2008. Therefore we can not give you a 100% guarantee that all torrents are virus-free.” December 30th has come and gone, so I guess they haven’t gotten around to updating the anti-virus yet.

vertor-info

Vertor also checks to see if the archives are password protected. If you’ve ever used BitTorrent, you’ve probably encountered some torrents that require a password or membership to a certain site. It can be pretty frustrating to find this out after you spent hours downloading the archive, so Vertor saves you from that headache.

A Sneak Preview

While Vertor will tell you what files are found within each torrent archive, you may not be terribly familiar with the file names themselves. That’s why it’s very cool that they offer samples. For audio torrents, you can access some brief MP3 snippets. For video torrents, you get screenshots, like these from Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa.

vertor-screen

The preview feature can also tell you if the files are corrupted or DRM-protected, as is the case with this Underworld: Rise of the Lycans torrent. The screenshots are just a mess, so you probably shouldn’t waste your time with that torrent.

The Cleanest Torrent Search Engine Out There

When you go to most of the other torrent-collecting websites on the Internet, you’ll notice that they are usually very cluttered and filled with flashing ads everywhere you look. There may be some annoying pop-up ads, a convoluted interface, and an abundance of useless torrents.

This does not appear to be the case with Vertor Verified Torrents. The site is very clean, easy-to-use, and 100% ad-free. The developers say that they hope to keep the site free of advertising for as long as possible.

With all of those extra features, like the antivirus protection and sample files, Vertor looks to be one of the cleanest and most complete torrent search engines on the net. Better still, you don’t even need your own BitTorrent client on your computer, because they offer the ability to use the BitLet online torrent client. That’s pretty neat.

CLICK HERE TO TRY VERTOR VERIFIED TORRENTS

Did you enjoy this post? Get John Chow Dot Com updates via email...

Stay up to date with all of John Chow’s tips for making money online and blog posts by subscribing via email. Your email will be kept private and never shared with anyone.

{ 43 comments }

Chris Jacobson February 4, 2009 at 9:12 pm

I may have to look into this… purely for educational purposes only though. :)

Taris Janitens February 4, 2009 at 9:54 pm

LOL As soon as I saw torrents I knew it had to be a review hehehe

Sounds interesting tho for a free site anwyays – too many free sites out there w/ BS downloads that are actually viruses etc

[email protected] February 5, 2009 at 4:34 am

Yeah I do feel in the similar fashion as well. But however this one is really cool looking website. I must say.

Thando - Website Development February 5, 2009 at 4:52 am

Yeah, most torrent websites seem extremely dodgey, and this one is the most decent I’ve come across.

Money Money Money February 5, 2009 at 7:57 am

Ya this site does look cool and i think worth a try.

Paul B February 5, 2009 at 8:19 am

It’s a clever demographic match, MMO bloggers and torrent users. I can see why they thought it would be worth paying for a review. :)

Marketing Business Review February 4, 2009 at 9:13 pm

So this is exactly the same as Bittorrent or Kazaa but with verified for viruses downloads.

Thando - Website Development February 5, 2009 at 4:53 am

Which means it’s safer.

[email protected] February 5, 2009 at 5:06 am

But I want to know how long. May be they are new and less eye of attraction (before their name on john chow) … but when they will be familiar name many people would like to use it as they try to use it others as well.

blued888 February 4, 2009 at 9:18 pm

Nice that they try to include preview screenshots and as much information on the download but I don’t think they’d be able to keep up with everything coming out.

[email protected] February 5, 2009 at 4:41 am

Yeah in the beginning stage they will work hard to keep up the quality but true test will start when they get popular and many people will start to capitalise it.

The Bored Ninja February 4, 2009 at 9:24 pm

Wow nice find. I can’t imagine it staying ad free for long.. that’s a lot of bandwidth!

[email protected] February 5, 2009 at 4:43 am

they are here to earn money not for the charity purpose. Just enjoy their service till they are free.

Laura-Whateverebay February 4, 2009 at 9:44 pm

This is interesting – should run a study on this. Just to understand all the information you have provided.

Money Is Everywhere February 4, 2009 at 10:20 pm

Interesting information you have provided here. I wondering how long it can remain virus free.

[email protected] February 5, 2009 at 4:46 am

yeah sooner or later they will get effected by this. He have started this review with a disclaimer and this one is self explanatory that this can be effected by virus as well.

TYCP Entertainment Magazine February 4, 2009 at 10:35 pm

I don’t do torrents, but this will be cool for people that are sick of going to sites that give them a million pop-up ads, along with viruses & whatnot. I’ve seen a lot of people complain about this.

Cannot believe February 4, 2009 at 10:55 pm

I cannot believe you allow posting this.

Unsubscribed

TYCP Entertainment Magazine February 4, 2009 at 11:05 pm

Allow posting like what? You think every torrent file has illegal content? Well you’re wrong.

Cannot believe February 4, 2009 at 11:18 pm

No, I don’t think every torrent file has illegal content.

But it seems that > 90% of torrents listed in that site are illegal…

TYCP Entertainment Magazine February 4, 2009 at 11:21 pm

And did you see the disclaimer Michael put at the top? You act like he encouraged people to download everything from the site.

John Chow February 4, 2009 at 11:07 pm

I can’t believe I waste your time telling me you’re going to unsubscribe. As if you think I will care or something. Actually, I may have care a little bit if you left your real name.

Elliot February 5, 2009 at 3:45 am

LOL, maybe his real name is Unsubscribe?, or maybe his parents did not opt-in to his birth certificate??;))

TYCP Entertainment Magazine February 7, 2009 at 1:02 am

Hahahaha

Moulinneuf February 5, 2009 at 5:54 am

Those people don’t see the evil master plan , post paid review about how torrent are great , invite CRIAA , RIAA , Music industry , movie industry to buy paid review that say the opposite …

Reyn Aria February 6, 2009 at 6:41 am

Just ignore him. You still have 48k+ loyal subscribers anyway. It’s just a review and it’s great too. Don’t sweat the small stuff.

Jon February 5, 2009 at 12:39 am

Good review John but I never participated in torrents nor do I ever have any desire to just out of fear of catching viruses… rentals are cheap anyhow around here, not worth the risk.

Jon
http://WoodMarvels.com – Create Unique Memories

behanj February 5, 2009 at 2:05 am

Nice, clean, fast site (what’d Mark Twain say about adjectives?)
@blued888 I was going to say “I’d say the site autogenerates the screenshots”, but then I’d imagine that’d take a shed-load of processing power on the server so probably not then…

SEO Tips February 5, 2009 at 4:29 am

Thats awesome. Where the hell did this site pop up from, never heard of it before and it looks excellent?
I wouldn’t like to be using the computers that they download the files too first :P

Thanks

Thando - Website Development February 5, 2009 at 4:55 am

This is quite a great site. I haven’t used torrents before because most of the torrent sites look extremely dodgey. I’ll give this one a go though.

Pheak Tol February 5, 2009 at 7:09 am

seems like this site is pretty decent, doesn’t look all that complicated and no flashy ads is good…the screenshots look real good as well..
hmmm..im going to do a personal review of this personally =P

blogger instinct February 5, 2009 at 8:30 am

Nice screen shots so John Chow is not into torrents! Very cool! Do you really believe that it’s the “Cleanest Torrent Search Engine Out There”? And is there really such a thing?

Thanks,

Eric

Melody February 5, 2009 at 2:20 pm

I’m too much of a wuss to do any of that nowadays, especially with the millions of computers that were recently infected with viruses..

Urban Dweller February 5, 2009 at 2:22 pm

I haven’t tried torrents for the same reasons as many have posted above. I trust John Chow will show us the way to virus free torrents.

Mark Wilson February 5, 2009 at 5:50 pm

I love torrents and this site seems to be the cleanest. Good review!

Earn Extra Money Online February 5, 2009 at 8:23 pm

Nice idea to add quality to otherwise risky torrents. Will have to check it out and see how well it performs.

Dan Massicotte February 6, 2009 at 5:52 am

I have heard that one can advertise by doing torrents for their website. I’m not sure how that works…but then again given the amount of people looking for seeds all the time, I’m it wouldn’t be that difficult to implement.

Monty - Sensonize.com February 7, 2009 at 11:45 am

My ISP blocks Torrents, so hard luck for me :(

Win Free Stuff February 7, 2009 at 1:44 pm

It may seem like John is in it all for the money now. First the “Azoogle” 300×250 ad and now the allowance of this review..hmm…

Of course I like this review, but I didn’t know John would go against rules and restrictions since torrents considered illegal (somewhat) and that Azoogle ad is just not appropriate for kids.

-Mike

Silvia February 7, 2009 at 8:45 pm

I have not used torrents and I am not sure that I really need it.There are so many restrictions.Why should I be so risky?

The Mad Ape February 8, 2009 at 3:46 pm

John,

I am very surprised that you would promote a copyright infringing website on your blog.

The Mad Ape

Albert February 8, 2009 at 11:25 pm

Yes. Its good site…

The “Download From Web” is useful for most of the portable users :) . But we need to install the Java Runtime in our system (:

Best Coffee Makers February 11, 2009 at 11:11 am

Vertor sounds perfect because I too am always scared to download stuff there are so many viruses out there.